Pratima, Veerasamy emerge champs at KSLTA-AITA Wheelchair Tennis

Pratima, Veerasamy emerge champs at KSLTA-AITA Wheelchair Tennis

Pratima Rao and Veerasamy Shekhar brought laurels to the host state when they emerged as the champions in the women’s and men’s category respectively of the Rs 3-lakh prize money KSLTA-AITA Wheelchair tennis tournament that concluded at the KSLTA here on Saturday.

Top seed Pratima Rao faced a stiff challenge from KP Shilpa before overcoming the second seed in three sets. In a pulsating final, Pratima after winning the first 6-4, went down tamely 1-6 in the second before the decider went on for 30 games with Pratima winning it at 16-14.

Later Shilpa teaming up with Nalina Kumari, avenged the defeat by claiming the double title after overcoming the pair of Pratima and MK Mubina 6-1, 6-2.

Meanwhile, Veeraswamy took home the men’s title after an easy 6-3, 6-4 victory over Subramanian Balachander of Tamil Nadu. Either of them could have made a grand double had the duo won the doubles title which they lost to the team of Karunakaran Kartik and Durai Mariyappan in the final.

The prizes were given away by International Dwarf Athlete and Padmashri awardee KY Venkatesh.

Results (Seedings in pre-fix and states in Parenthesis)

Men’s singles Final

2-Veerasamy Shekhar (KAR) bt 4-Subramanian Balachander (TN) 6-3, 6-4

Men’s doubles Final

Karunakaran Kartik / Durai Mariyappan bt Subramanian Balachander / Veerasamy Shekhar 6-1, 7-6 (5)

Women’s singles Final

1-Pratima Rao (KAR) bt 2-KP Shilpa (KAR) 6-4, 1-6, 16-14

Women’s Doubles final

Nalina Kumari / KP Shilpa bt Pratima Rao / MK Mubina 6-1, 6-2


Leave A Comment