Rohan Bopanna wins Doha Tour title with Wesley Koolhof

Image ALt

Rohan Bopanna wins Doha Tour title with Wesley Koolhof

Rohan Bopanna in partnership with Wesley Koolhof of Netherlands beat Luke Bambridge and Santiago Gonzalez 3-6, 6-2, 10-6 to win the first doubles title of the season, in the $1,465,260 ATP tennis tournament in Doha, Qatar, on Friday.

The third seeded Indo-Dutch pair which had earlier in the day knocked out the second seeds Henri Kontinen and Franco Skugor 7-5, 6-2, collected 250 ATP points and $76,870.

This was Bopanna's 20th Tour title.

Meanwhile, Ankita Raina progressed into the semifinals of the $25,000 ITF women’s event in Bendigo, Australia with a walkover from third seed Sachia Vickery of the US. In the semifinals, Ankita will challenge the top seed Patricia Maria Tig of Romania.

In the $15,000 women’s event in Monastir, Tunisia, Zeel Desai made the singles semifinals with a straight sets victory over Martyna Kubka of Poland, and the doubles semifinals in partnership with Anastasia Tikhonova.

The results:

$ 1,465,260 ATP, Doha, Qatar
Doubles (final): Wesley Koolhof (NED) & Rohan Bopanna bt Luke Bambridge (GBR) & Santiago Gonzalez (MEX) 3-6, 6-2, [10-6]; Semifinals: Wesley Koolhof & Rohan Bopanna bt Henri Kontinen (FIN) & Franko Skugor (CRO) 7-5, 6-2.

$25,000 ITF women, Bendigo, Australia
Singles (quarterfinals): Ankita Raina w.o. Sachia Vickery (US).

$15,000 ITF women, Monastir, Tunisia
Singles (quarterfinals): Zeel Desai bt Martyna Kubka (POL) 7-5, 6-4.

Doubles (quarterfinals): Anastasia Tikhonova (RUS) & Zeel Desai bt Victoria Muntean (FRA) & Sabina Sharipova (UZB) 5-7, 6-3, [12-10].

(Courtesy: The Hindu)


Follow Us

Back to Top

Contact Us

All India Tennis Associaton

RK Khanna Tennis Stadium,

Africa Avenue,

New Delhi - 110029.

+91 11 26176276 / 2617 6283-85 / 91 11 26176280
+91 11 2617 3159


Reach Us

Affiliated to

Thesis writing services from will deal with your thesis problem. Place your order and get the best dissertation writer Ireland who will help you to
LAST UPDATED ON : 25-Jan-2021 3:00 PM IST